Customer service matters

21 Mar

I set my alarm for 30 minutes earlier than usual so I could arrive at the Toyota dealership early enough to get a good spot in line. Although I was fifteen minutes early, I was third in line.

Toyota_Service_Exterior

Once I was in the building, the check in process was quick. John, my service agent, was friendly and efficient.

“I see you are due for an oil change soon, ” he said. “Do you want us to take care of that today?”

“Can you?” I replied. “I already have an oil change appointment next week. Could you cancel that one for me?”

” Of, course!” he responded. “Is the 964 number still the best number to contact you?” he asked, checking my cell phone number. “I sometimes leave a voice message if the repair is large, but will send a text whether or not I leave a voicemail.” Then he got me set up for the shuttle that would take me to work. I was in and out in 20 minutes.

My shuttle driver was a retired teacher – they are everywhere. We had a lot to chat about but mostly talked about how the school district has changed and grown over the last decade.

As promised, I had a text from John a few hours later. Good news! A small leak and it would only cost $60!

The same driver picked me up. She was running late and called me to let me know.  I didn’t mind. It was a beautiful afternoon so I sat at the front of the school in the parent pick-up area. Several staff members joked about my mom running late as they left for home. I basked in the sun, taking off my coat and rolling up my pant legs for a little vitamin D.

Before long my driver arrived and she thanked me for my patience. I laughed. It wasn’t a struggle to sit and enjoy the Spring sunshine.

As she pulled up to the service entrance, she said, “I really enjoyed talking with you.” It had been another nice conversation.

Once again, John was quick and efficient. I joked about the age of my car. He smiled and said, “It is in great shape, though.”

I drove home happy at my experience and relieved that the check engine light was finally out.

7 Responses to “Customer service matters”

  1. sallydonnelly11 March 21, 2018 at 5:19 am #

    Your story made me smile. It feels good to read about someone’s pleasant day! It feels good to have something fixed and those involved offering friendly service.

  2. Brian Rozinsky March 21, 2018 at 6:50 am #

    So many small, joyful details here that made me smile vicariously.

  3. Leila Michelle March 21, 2018 at 7:00 am #

    I hope you left a review on their website! Maybe even use this post! I always appreciate good customer service myself 🙂

  4. arjeha March 21, 2018 at 7:42 am #

    Beautiful sunshine, great service, a fixed car that didn’t make you have to mortgage the house..Sounds like a winning day all around.

  5. elsie March 21, 2018 at 10:22 am #

    What a relief it wasn’t a costly repair! No car shopping for you! Happy day!

  6. Lisa Corbett March 21, 2018 at 5:17 pm #

    Great news! The dealership costs more, but I find the service is worth it.

  7. Alice Nine March 21, 2018 at 8:35 pm #

    Finding the positive in everyday happenings = gratitude = joy = I loved reading your slice. I really related to “I basked in the sun, taking off my coat and rolling up my pant legs for a little vitamin D.” Spoken as a true Oregonian. I’m not sure other people understand how aware we are of that and never miss an opportunity to soak in a bit.

Comments are closed.