Flu Season

13 Jan

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

My class has had great attendance all year. For the first few weeks of school, the secretary called to remind me to do attendance because no one was ever absent.

But, Winter Break is over and it is January. I haven’t had perfect attendance since Break ended. Last Friday, the principal came to our room to hand out  attendance certificates for the first trimester, and one of those receiving the award was out sick.

Yesterday, I sent a boy to the office. When he returned he said he wouldn’t be at school tomorrow. He had my permission to go to the bathroom whenever he needed, without asking. I disinfected his desk after school. Thank goodness for the disinfectant wipes we ask the kids to bring!

I am eating healthy food and taking all the precautions I can. I am one of those asthmatic people who is supposed to get a flu shot. I asked my doctor and she said she’s 50/50 on flu shots and I should do what I think is best.  About 20 years ago I got one and got sick shortly afterwards. The logical part of my brain tells me that was a coincidence. The rest of my brain says “No flu shot!”. It is going to take a bout of the flu without a shot to get me to start a new flu shot tradition.

7 Responses to “Flu Season”

  1. Kim K January 13, 2015 at 6:23 am #

    flu shot tradition…that made me chuckle. I think it’s 50/50 too. There are years I got I and got sick and years I didn’t get it and didn’t get sick. Go figure. Here’s to a healthy 2015!

  2. arjeha January 13, 2015 at 8:03 am #

    When I was working it seemed like January and February I was always playing “catch-up” with several students. I don’t think I had a full class of students during those two months. Good thing teachers are flexible at planning.

  3. Dana Murphy January 13, 2015 at 8:41 am #

    I always get the flu shot, and this is the first year it didn’t work. Attendance at my school has been really down, too. We’ll get through this. Here’s to a healthy Spring!

  4. Tara Smith January 13, 2015 at 8:47 am #

    Ugh. I have so many absences in my classes on account of the flu – forgot to take a shot this year, and now I have my fingers crossed!

  5. aggiekesler January 13, 2015 at 2:16 pm #

    It’s going around! I’m sick too, but luckily it’s just a cold! Take care of yourself for sure!

  6. Jaana January 13, 2015 at 5:48 pm #

    I’m not one for flu shots. Trying to just take precautions. Today was the first day in weeks (maybe even over a month) that everyone was at school! It felt great!

  7. Michelle @litlearningzone January 13, 2015 at 8:03 pm #

    Everyone in my family gets the flu shot. I’ll take any protection I can get! Keep up those healthy habits!

Comments are closed.