Booked!

19 Jan

sol

Home from Boston, surrounded by the piles of arcs I collected, my mind has turned to summer.

This summer, my niece, my twin sister’s only child, graduates from high school and turns 18 in the same week. I got to thinking I’d like to be there for those two big events and checked flights. Prices were very good.

So, in conversation with my sister last night we talked it over. As the Superintendent for elementary schools in her district, her time can be flexible, even though school will still be in session if I were to arrive the last week of June. We looked at the calendar and talked things over. I went online while we were talking and found nonstop, round-trip, PDX to YYZ  flights on Air Canada for $422, a very good price. We talked it over and I though tempted to book it right away, I decided to sleep on it and book it in the morning if I still felt confident.

I am now booked to go and I feel very happy about it.

It makes me amazed, how easy all this is to do now. It used to take days or weeks to make these kinds of plans.You’d make a plan. Then you’d have to go see a travel agent. They’d give you some options. You’d think them over and decide. Later, you’d get your paper tickets. It is all so different now.

I started shopping for my own tickets when I lived in Colombia. Once my Spanish was good enough, I skipped the travel agent and would just call the airlines directly. I can’t remembered how I paid, but it must have been by credit card over the phone. I still have my Lonely Planet guidebook  Colombia: A Travel Survival Kit   ©1988.

IMG_2178

The inside covers refilled with notes, including flight information I scratched down while on the phone with Avianca.

IMG_2185

It is a ratty old book now, but it is a storehouse of memories.

11 Responses to “Booked!”

  1. Stacey Shubitz January 19, 2016 at 7:08 am #

    I, too, am dreaming of summer! Yesterday my daughter and I picked up our season passes for Hersheypark in the blustery weather. Thinking about warmer temps helped (just a bit).

  2. arjeha January 19, 2016 at 7:25 am #

    It must have been a week of planning for summer. Maybe it is the threat of our first major snowfall coming this weekend. Anyway, I bought theater tickets for our August New York Trip last night. Now I have something to look forward to when the snow arrives.

  3. Lisa Orchard January 19, 2016 at 10:23 am #

    Sounds like a great plan for the end of the year. Being with family is such a fun time! I hope you have a great trip!

  4. karenheathblog January 19, 2016 at 10:49 am #

    I always love the thrill of booking a flight, the excitement that goes with looking ahead to seeing someone you love, especially at a momentous time in his or her life. I, too, have a couple trips booked, and one happens to be out to Portland (from Vermont) where I will see my son. Yay!

  5. Lisa January 19, 2016 at 1:56 pm #

    I love having a summer trip to look forward to over the winter. It does help the winter to pass a bit more quickly, I think. Will you be here for Canada Day?

    • Adrienne January 19, 2016 at 2:19 pm #

      Yes. My niece graduates on June 30th and her birthday is July 4th. It will be my first Canada Day in a few years. They live in Huntsville, Ont. which is a lovely place to spend Canada Day.

  6. Linda Baie January 19, 2016 at 2:35 pm #

    It did used to be more complicated, but now, all online, easy, easy. But I had a neighbor who was a travel agent & that part was fun. She would come over to help us plan, then do the rest. That connection is missing now. Happy for you that you’ll be there for the big events!

  7. franmcveigh January 19, 2016 at 2:47 pm #

    Love the ease of planning . . . but also that double thinking of is this whe best way. I have a graduation for a nephew in Florida in May and a first birthday for my grandson in KY. The fun part is that it will involve two separate trips! I’m already thinking . . . “in the good old summertime . . . “

  8. Lynn January 19, 2016 at 4:56 pm #

    Dreaming of summer…I love it! And yes the ease to make our travel plans is something else I love! Sometimes I just wish the actual “travel” was as easy 🙂

  9. Tara Smith January 19, 2016 at 5:58 pm #

    Oh what fun! Now for the planning and the constant dreaming!

  10. Erika Victor January 20, 2016 at 4:01 am #

    I have been obsessed with thinking and dreaming about summer as soon as the TCRWP dates were posted. I am hoping to attend my first ever institutes and I am excited about the possibility! It sounds like you have a great start to your summer!

Comments are closed.