OBHR Calling

26 Jan

sol

“Hi! My name is Adrienne and I am  volunteer with Oregon Basset Hound rescue. Our adoption coordinator forwarded your application to me and I am calling to touch base with you and see about setting up a home visit.”

I’ve made that call 4 times in the last two weeks. It’s been a year since OBHR had an application that called for me to do a home visit. Suddenly, we are inundated with applicants.

It might have to do with this guy.

Sherman

Sherman is the youngest dog we’ve had posted for a while. Most people who have lost dogs want a younger dog who will be with them a little longer than an older dog might. It’s understandable. When I lost Louie, six years ago, I said the same thing, which is why I ended up with Lucy.

Sherman’s adoption is pending. He’s on a visit with a family that, we hope, will be become his forever home, and who will work on his tendency to chew things.

We’ve rehomed one other dog, Ellie, since the start of the year and have another looking for a new home.

Ellie

Walter is a little older and needs to be an only dog.

2

And there are probably two more coming in shortly, a bonded pair, that cannot be separated.

2016 might be busy for OBHR.

7 Responses to “OBHR Calling”

  1. Donna Smith January 26, 2016 at 6:36 am #

    So glad to hear that applicants are on the rise! Love to hear that a dog got a wonderful new home!

  2. Linda Baie January 26, 2016 at 6:41 am #

    My daughter-in-law would love to work with you, Adrienne. She adores basset hounds. What a good thing to do, to help find homes for these wonderful pets. I’m glad you are busy!

  3. Lisa Orchard January 26, 2016 at 6:54 am #

    I have a friend who loves dogs, if she could she would take him in, in a second. 🙂 This is an awesome thing to do! I had an idea, have you ever thought of asking around to Retirement Homes? I’m sure there are many elderly people, who’d love the companionship of a dog and I’ve read somewhere that owning a pet is actually very good for your mental health. I think it’s worth a shot. 🙂

  4. arjeha January 26, 2016 at 8:19 am #

    Here’s hoping things work out for Sherman and all of the other dogs who need a loving home.

  5. Tara Smith January 26, 2016 at 1:37 pm #

    What great work you do. Here’s hoping that each of these finds a good home.

  6. M Edmonson January 26, 2016 at 2:02 pm #

    Thank you for the work you do! My 2 bassets send a good sloppy kiss!

  7. writekimwrite January 26, 2016 at 2:39 pm #

    How wonderful to be a part of finding these dogs forever homes. Kind of you ,too! All of the dogs and cats who have come into my life have been rescues of one kind or another. So I appreciate those who have cared for them on their way to my home! Thanks!

Comments are closed.