Playing with idioms

4 Apr

I have a busy week this week.

Me, the introvert. The person who loves to stay home.

I have commitments five evenings in a row. Five SCHOOL NIGHT evenings in a row. It has me dreading events I am actually excited about. And that has me playing with idioms.

At first, I thought out of the frying pan into the fire. But that seemed inaccurate. Having just left the relaxation of my Spring break staycation, it seemed that out of the slowcooker into the pressure cooker might be more accurate.

Since an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure,  I am making sure I am eating healthy food this week. I made mushroom soup on the weekend to take in my lunch this week, and I made a lovely green juice this morning to be sure that I get the vitamins and energy I need to make it through the week. What doesn’t kill me makes me stronger,  right!?

29587379592_ffc85a733d_o

 

 

11 Responses to “Playing with idioms”

  1. lisaorchard1 April 4, 2017 at 6:35 am #

    Thanks for the chuckle, Adrienne! This is a cute post! I hope you get through the week and all your commitments turn out to be fun. 🙂

  2. barbara suter April 4, 2017 at 6:53 am #

    Some weeks are like that. A partial introvert myself, I enjoy having space between social commitments. A cute exercise in deploying idioms that would be fun for students to try.

  3. arjeha April 4, 2017 at 8:36 am #

    Who hasn’t had a week like the one you are anticipating. Best to take it one day at a time. Good luck getting through your busy week.

  4. terierrol April 4, 2017 at 10:23 am #

    Good luck this week. When it rains, it pours – ain’t that the truth!

  5. wahooteacher April 4, 2017 at 12:17 pm #

    I particularly liked “out of the slowcooker into the pressure cooker.” I hope that you have a great week and that you have opportunities to decompress in between events:)

  6. Alice Nine April 4, 2017 at 2:57 pm #

    I don’t think you bit off more than you can chew … and it sounds like you are all set to burn the midnight oil this week.:)

  7. franmccrackin April 4, 2017 at 3:59 pm #

    A fun way to write but not complain (much.) Don’t you love idioms? And why not create new ones 🙂

  8. Brian Rozinsky April 4, 2017 at 4:35 pm #

    A cliche in time saves nine! This was fun to read, Adrienne, and I wish you well during this hectic stretch. (You’ve probably already got some decompression time in the calendar following these five days, yes?)

  9. Christine April 4, 2017 at 6:44 pm #

    What a fun way to post. May have to try this format sometime.

  10. J Koval April 4, 2017 at 8:36 pm #

    This is a fun post! Being somewhat of an introvert myself, I can sympathize with your dread of having to be out 5 nights in a row. Five SCHOOL nights, at that. But the weekend will be here before you know it, and then you can relax. Hang in there until then! ~JudyK

  11. kindergardencanvas April 4, 2017 at 9:37 pm #

    I loved how you wove the idioms into your writing.

Comments are closed.