I finally opened the windows

12 Mar

I finally opened the windows
The Spring really seemed to be here.
I finally opened the windows –
The air was so fresh and so clear.
I aired out the kitchen and bathroom,
And I aired out my stuffy bedroom.
My whole house was freed from its wintery gloom
Since I finally opened the windows

I finally opened the windows
It was such a beautiful day.
I finally opened the windows
And banished the winter away.
I opened the curtains and raised up the blinds,
Shook out the cobwebs stuck fast in my mind
And saw all the wonders that Nature designed
Since I finally opened the windows.

spring-938593_1280

9 Responses to “I finally opened the windows”

  1. jodimahoney March 12, 2018 at 6:07 am #

    You had me at Shel Silverstein…. I love the way this poem was structured and I am WISHING for spring here as another snowstorm is on its way tonight!

  2. aggiekesler March 12, 2018 at 6:18 am #

    Love your poem! Such promise and imagery. I love Spring…I wish I got to experience it. Thanks for sharing!

  3. elsie March 12, 2018 at 7:49 am #

    What a great poem! You did capture the rhythm and rhyme. Oh, for the fresh air!

  4. arjeha March 12, 2018 at 8:19 am #

    I am waiting for the day when we can open the windows and doors here. I know it is coming. Your poem holds hope for me.

  5. Alice Nine March 12, 2018 at 1:31 pm #

    Love your poem! AND today is even better than yesterday! There is no place better than PDX on a spring day!!!

  6. terierrol March 12, 2018 at 3:37 pm #

    I’m so jealous! Just more snow headed this way. Can’t wait to wash and open the windows.

  7. Tricia Mac March 12, 2018 at 4:11 pm #

    Lovely poem and pic! I wish, wish, wish to see that outside my window, but Mother Nature has other plans for the Northeast tomorrow as she’ll be delivering 10-14″ of snow my way. Ugh..it’s still winter but with spring so close it just doesn’t seem right. 😪

  8. Morgan March 12, 2018 at 6:12 pm #

    I had to read this one out loud! This part was my favorite:
    “I opened the curtains and raised up the blinds,
    Shook out the cobwebs stuck fast in my mind
    And saw all the wonders that Nature designed”
    It takes us outward, inward, and back out again with a true introspection that shines from…you. Way to go!

  9. Leigh Anne Eck March 12, 2018 at 6:18 pm #

    If I opened my windows, would that banish MY winter away? Oh, I could only dream. Lovely poem and perfect descriptions. What a beautiful view from your open window.

Comments are closed.