NaPoWriMo

1 Apr

 

napofeature4

National Poetry Month begins today, and therefore, so does NaPoWriMo (National poetry Writing Month). I am celebrating it with my reading differentiation group. Ideally we would write a poem every school day in April, but OAKS testing has stepped in to confound things. We meet today & tomorrow, then not again for 2 weeks because groups are cancelled for testing. Sigh.

The website for NaPoWriMo offers many things, not the least of which is a prompt a day. Sometimes these are not really 4th grade friendly, but many times they are. Over the years, I’ve collected the best ones and now have an arsenal of poems that 4th graders can begin and do a good job on within the limits of our group time.

 

Today’s prompt uses the Bibliomancy Oracle. My prompt came from Robert Frost.

Here are your waters and your watering place.

Drink and be whole again beyond confusion.

*

from “Directive” by Robert Frost

And here is my response:

“Homebody”

All day long

I talk, listen, advise, ask.

Sweet bliss

when I get home

to the peace, the quiet

and sit down

to cup of tea

a book

a dog on either side,

I am whole again.

 

6 Responses to “NaPoWriMo”

  1. Donna Smith April 1, 2014 at 5:54 am #

    We all need that watering place! Lovely poem!

  2. Kathy Douglas April 1, 2014 at 7:35 am #

    Thanks for sharing your poetry. Since I volunteer (retired) in a fourth grade classroom, I will continue to follow your work with your kiddos. Thanks for sharing!

  3. amelia1973 April 1, 2014 at 8:33 am #

    Loved your poem! Nicely written!

  4. arjeha April 1, 2014 at 9:55 am #

    Love you poem. Of course, for me I would substitute “cat” in place of “dog”. 🙂

  5. elsie April 1, 2014 at 1:11 pm #

    Those dogs so happy you are home. It’s a good place to be. Happy poetry month!

  6. tsudmeier April 1, 2014 at 6:01 pm #

    Loved this poem. I felt whole again at the end.

Comments are closed.