Shot #2

12 Mar

Yesterday, I woke up a half hour before my alarm. It was the day of my second shot and, after the stress and long lines of the first shot, I had a well thought out plan I wanted to roll out.

My appointment was at 9:00 a.m. My plan was to be there by 8:00, in case the lines were long. The tricky bot of this was Richard. You see, he’s has fallen in to habit of getting up with me and eating his breakfast then going back to bed for three more hours. I’ve been worrying about how I am going to have to retrain him before we go back to the school building April 19th, so today was a great day to test his ability to get up earlier. Fortunately, he passed with flying colors.

There was frost on the car, which needed scraping, but I was on the road, by my targeted time and arrived at the parking lot of the Oregon Convention Center a bit before 8:00. There was lots of parking and no lines, so I was seated with the nurse and vaccinated by 8:15. I know it was 8:25 because my exit sticker said 8:45 – they make me wait 30 minutes because I am allergic to sulpha drugs. Mission accomplished before my actual appointment time!

When I got home, I dug out all my old vaccination records an added my new card to the pile. They include shots for yellow fever, cholers, typhoid fever, and polio. I don’t have a paper record of receiving a smallpox vaccination, but I have the scar to prove it.

15 Responses to “Shot #2”

  1. Lisa Keeler March 12, 2021 at 6:12 am #

    So glad you got your second dose and hope you’re feeling ok. My mom and I have been talking about the yellow vaccination cards from long ago. Not sure where mine are.

    • Adrienne March 12, 2021 at 6:22 am #

      Thanks! I have a sore arm & serious fatigue, bit I’m OK with that.

  2. Jackie Higgins March 12, 2021 at 6:20 am #

    Congratulations on being fully vaccinated! I hope you are feeling ok. I get shot #1 today! I’ve been up early planning my day as well. In Missouri there are no shots available near the cities. The rural areas are ending up with hundreds of extra doses. Today I’m driving over 3 hours round trip to get my shot. My parents live halfway so I’m dropping off my boys and picking up my mom for the road trip! I hope mine turns out as smooth as your second shot but I’m prepared for anything. 🙂

    • Adrienne March 12, 2021 at 6:23 am #

      Good luck. You know the old say “Plan for the worst and hope for the best”.

  3. terierrol March 12, 2021 at 7:30 am #

    Happy to read that things worked out well for you. It is good to be well-prepared. I have my second shot next Friday, Can’t wait. Are we slowly on a roll to the nrew normal.

  4. arjeha March 12, 2021 at 7:45 am #

    Glad to hear you got your second shot. We get ours a week from tomorrow. Here’s hoping the weather is good since we have a two hour drive to get it. Richard seems to be flexible with his schedule.

  5. Brittany Graves March 12, 2021 at 1:15 pm #

    I got my second shot yesterday too. I was worried it was going to take a long while like the first. Just like you, the parking lot was bare and there were no lines. In and out!

    • Adrienne March 12, 2021 at 1:16 pm #

      How are you feeling today? I am mostly tired.

      • Brittany Graves March 13, 2021 at 8:58 pm #

        Same!! I was just tired! I’ll take that!

  6. theapplesinmyorchard March 12, 2021 at 1:29 pm #

    I am so glad so many of you are able to have your shots -first or second! I am not eligible until May according to the DHS in the State of Wisconsin. I hope the rollout goes well and maybe, just maybe, I can be vaccinated sooner rather than later. Although I’m an environmental educator (I have an MS in Natural Resources) I freelance and do not have any face-to-face jobs lined up….Currently, I’m patiently trying to wait my turn! Take care!

  7. Lisa Corbett March 13, 2021 at 4:19 am #

    Ontario vaccination records still look the same! I haven’t seen my children’s in a while. Everything is electronic now but I suppose they might come in handy sometime. It’s going to feel so strange for you to be back at school!

  8. Anonymous March 25, 2021 at 9:56 am #

    I am also allergic to sulpha drugs….so this is good to know even though it will still be awhile until I even see shot #1!

    • Anonymous March 25, 2021 at 9:56 am #

      Whoops….forgot to leave my name lol….Chris Baechler!

      • Adrienne March 25, 2021 at 10:03 am #

        Nice. I wondered who “Someone ” was.

    • Adrienne March 25, 2021 at 10:02 am #

      I always figure it is best to be upfront about allergies.

Comments are closed.