Time Flies

26 Mar

“Good morning,” my neighbor said to me as I took Richard for our afternoon walk. She realized her error and laughed.

I joined in and said, ” I get it. I’m on Spring Break and keep thinking today is Saturday.” I paused for a moment and had to think what day it really was.

By the time we got to the park, the conversation had drifted far from my brain. we meandered on and off the path. It was a nice day – in Oregon that means it’s not raining. I kept looking around wondering why there were so few people here on a Saturday. And then I remembered.

It’s bittersweet when you get to this point in Spring Break- you are deep enough to lose track of time, and deep enough that the Break is almost over.

10 Responses to “Time Flies”

  1. arjeha March 26, 2021 at 8:23 am #

    Believe me, when you retire you have to look at a calendar each day to remined yourself what day of the week it is.

    • Adrienne March 26, 2021 at 8:28 am #

      Retirement is still a few years off, but I am looking forward to it.

  2. amyilene March 26, 2021 at 8:54 am #

    Oh, that line: “you are deep enough to lose track of time, and deep enough that the Break is almost over”! So true…so very, very true.

  3. gbrock March 26, 2021 at 8:55 am #

    I say that about every vacation! By the time you are finally relaxed, it is over! T-minus 4 hours until my spring break begins! I hope you enjoyed yours. 😉

    • Adrienne March 26, 2021 at 8:56 am #

      Spring Break should be two weeks long. It takes a whole week to relax into it!

  4. britt March 26, 2021 at 9:25 am #

    Yes to spring break being two weeks long! I can’t remember why they decided to do so, but my old district scheduled two weeks for spring break this year. My mentor has gladly been bragging about it all week LOL. Enjoy and savor what is left!

  5. thelifeofamomteacherandwife March 26, 2021 at 9:56 am #

    That is the best part of a break when you finally lose track of time! Savor the relaxation and time to recharge.

  6. Lisa Corbett March 26, 2021 at 1:54 pm #

    You’ve probably heard that our March Break was postponed until April. We’re all hoping that it won’t be postponed again! I need this type of week – when I don’t really know what day it is and don’t really need to know. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time off.

  7. Shaista March 26, 2021 at 1:58 pm #

    Just goes to show how relaxed and carefree you are this week! o schedules, no alarms, no calendar invites to check!

  8. hzreflections March 26, 2021 at 4:50 pm #

    I totally know that feeling! Enjoy your last few days. And best of luck on Monday for a smooth start back.

Comments are closed.