Classic Mode: A Slice of Life Story

14 Apr

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I’ve used Macs from the beginning. At first, I did everything in Appleworks and that served me well. When I went to grad school, I realized that it would no longer serve and installed Microsoft Word. I hated it at first, but learned to embrace it. I even got to the point where I would admit aloud that it was superior to Appleworks. Then, it upgraded and everything was in the wrong place and I was on a new learning curve again.

For a while, WordPress has been offering me the opportunity to use the new face, rather than staying in Classic mode. I declined because I like Classic mode. Everything is where I know it to be.

Today, I was not given the option. It seems to have automatically loaded the new face. What was on the right, is now on the left. And I am frustrated.

We had a brief discussion like this in class yesterday. I was telling kids their new jobs for the week and reminding them that we have to finish the third trimester strong. I don’t know how the kids got on to the idea, but suddenly they were telling me they wanted me to move to fifth grade, to move to middle school and be their teacher there. It warmed my heart and I understood what they were feeling. We’ve made it to a point where we are comfortable.

I am Classic mode. Their 5th grade teacher will be the new face, but they’ll adjust, just like I apparently am going to have to do.

5 Responses to “Classic Mode: A Slice of Life Story”

  1. jarhartz April 14, 2015 at 6:54 am #

    Ha! I know what you mean, I prefer Classic Mode. Your students are so sweet. Change is hard and not always what we want.

  2. Stacey Shubitz April 14, 2015 at 6:55 am #

    I’ve been resisting WordPress’s new mode too. I found a way (for now) to get around it. All you have to do is type in https://booksandbassets.wordpress.com/wp-admin into your browser and it should take you to the classic view you’ve always enjoyed.

    • Adrienne April 14, 2015 at 7:39 am #

      Thanks!!!!! You are saving me from headaches and grumbling.

  3. arjeha April 14, 2015 at 7:33 am #

    Unfortunately, change is inevitable and we all have to sooner or later embrace it. Tho older I get, the less I like to embrace. Why change what works well?

  4. amywh3lan13 April 14, 2015 at 8:58 am #

    I’m classic, alright. It is so hard to change, especially when you’ve finally figured something out that took a while to learn! Keeps us young, I guess…even frustrated on occasion!

Comments are closed.