Early Mornings

23 Jun

sol

I’ve always been a morning person. I become especially so in summer. My house doesn’t have air conditioning, so I get up around 4, never earlier, and open wide the doors and windows, letting the cool morning air refresh the house.

There are several things I like about this time of day. The freshness of the morning air is only the first.

I love the stillness and silence. Few people are up. Although I occasionally hear a car, it it’s mostly silent, until the birds begin.

I love watching the sky change from dark to light, as if it is giving me some insight into what lies ahead for the day.

On a humorous note, I love watching the thermometer in my living room. As the house cools, I enjoy seeing the temperature inside the house drop, proof that my actions work.

8 Responses to “Early Mornings”

  1. Stacey Shubitz June 23, 2015 at 5:46 am #

    If you like watching the thermometer, then you’ll want to get one (or all) of the following.
    1) Living Earth App — It’s an awesome weather app for your iPhone!
    2) Galileo Thermometer — What’s better than a beautiful thermometer?
    3) A Barometer — My parents have one and I just love checking-in on the barometric pressure from day to day.

    • Adrienne June 23, 2015 at 6:23 am #

      OOOO! Thanks for this. I have NOAA and my favorite local TV station’s 7 day forecast bookmarked, but these will add to the fun.

  2. Erika Victor June 23, 2015 at 6:17 am #

    You are an early bird! I liked being with you there in your morning routines.

  3. agurney2015 June 23, 2015 at 6:24 am #

    I think waking up early, like you describe here is a beautiful thing when it is on you own terms. Happy summer and happy thermometer watching – I’d like it to raise and get to the pool!

  4. arjeha June 23, 2015 at 7:24 am #

    Getting up when you want to and not when you have to has always been a perk of summer vacation. Being retired, most days are like this for me.

  5. Tara Smith June 23, 2015 at 11:07 am #

    Even on summer break, I am a morning person, too, for just the reasons you described.

  6. sallydonnelly11 June 23, 2015 at 12:42 pm #

    I am currently renting a house without AC and the heat and the birds also wake me up at the 4ish hour. I had to click to see where you live. I’m glad in Oregon you can get some relief from the heat.

    Somehow it is just hot in VA. So around 4am I turn on the AC window unit, get annoyed by the noise whichever is why it got turned off as I went to bed but am able to sleep a bit longer with the cool fan blowing.

    Stay cool and keep enjoying your morning peace and quiet!

  7. Lisa June 28, 2015 at 4:17 am #

    The morning is a nice time to be up! I always think I would rather sleep in, but have gotten in the habit of going to sleep with my children at night, so getting up early feels like a stolen moment to enjoy rather than a burden. I was up and walking at 5:00 many mornings in May, slacked off in June because it was too busy and I had things to do, but am headed back out now. My intention is to allow myself to sleep in until 6:00 all summer. 🙂

Comments are closed.