Think Pink

2 Mar

Long before we wore pink ribbons or kitty hats, I had a group of 4th grade girls who wore pink every Wednesday.

The class was small by 21st century American public school standards: under 25 students. But this class had personality. Not too much, because classes with too much personality can exhaust you. Not too little, because they exhaust you in a completely different way. This class had just the right amount of personality because they energized me.

It didn’t surprise me when I saw the girls wearing pink. Elementary girls wear a lot of pink, though by 4th grade other hues start taking over. First purple, then baby blue, lime green, sunshine yellow…. and on it goes. The girls in this class, however, still loved pink.

One day, I noticed a significant amount of pink and said something funny about it. That is when they told me they wore pink every Wednesday. I thought about that for a while, puzzled . Why had I only noticed it today? There was no particular reason for it, they explained, except that they liked pink. And that’s when it happened. I decided there and then that I would wear pink next Wednesday.

I  didn’t tell them, of course. Where’s the fun in that? You can probably imagine how surprised and pleased they looked the following Wednesday, when I, too, was wearing pink.

I did so every Wednesday that year. Yes, the boys thought we were all weird, but I think wearing pink helped me build a stronger classroom community with everyone.

welcome-wagon-volunteer-with-border

 

 

13 Responses to “Think Pink”

  1. rosecappelli March 2, 2017 at 5:33 am #

    We connect with students in so many ways! I’m sure your actions made them feel special. I’d be curious to know if others joined in as well. I worked with a male fifth grade teacher whose entire class (even the boys) wore pink every Friday.

    • Adrienne March 2, 2017 at 5:53 am #

      As I was writing, I tried to remember if the boys participated or not. I have a vague sense that some did, but was unsure so left it out. I am thinking that I might have more slices about that class.

  2. arjeha March 2, 2017 at 7:06 am #

    What a great way to form a special bond with your students. Kind of like a secret club that the other students in the building were unaware of.

  3. elsie March 2, 2017 at 7:16 am #

    Now that’s the sign of a class who has community! How fun that you joined in with the girls. I’m surprised the boys didn’t create their own color day too.

  4. Alice Nine March 2, 2017 at 9:19 am #

    Love it. I laughed at, “the boys thought we were all weird” … sounds just like fourth-grade-boy reaction, especially to all things pink.

  5. lynnedorfman March 2, 2017 at 10:07 am #

    Love this piece – it rings honest and sincere. great title, great story. I love how you joined in and became part of Pink Wednesdays – putting the joy into going to school every chance we get!

  6. Lisa C March 2, 2017 at 10:42 am #

    I love this story! Good for you for surprising them by joining in. I love when classes are bonded to each other like this. And I know just what you mean about having just the right amount of personality!

  7. mlb1202 March 2, 2017 at 12:22 pm #

    Love this! That’s so awesome, and so something I would totally do! I can only imagine how excited and happy your girls were that you joined in with them. Definitely a great way to bond with your class. 🙂

  8. terierrol March 2, 2017 at 2:03 pm #

    I loved reading your writing and hearing about the bond you formed. It is great when we can connect like that with students!

  9. Frances A Mccrackin March 2, 2017 at 2:54 pm #

    Just echoing the other comments- love your reaction and your post!

  10. Brian Rozinsky March 2, 2017 at 6:06 pm #

    Your move sounds just right for the just-right personality of that class!

  11. teachworkoutlove March 2, 2017 at 9:46 pm #

    That’s a great story!

  12. MAK March 4, 2017 at 10:34 am #

    Your snippet has so much depth. The pink of the past month or so is really about being a community of support for everyone – all types, from all backgrounds, from all places. And that is exactly what your students were doing. They were just expressing happiness and community.

Comments are closed.