Why I love teaching middle school

22 Mar

I walked behind the two boys as they ambled down the hallway. Seventh graders?  I wondered. One, tall and husky, had a walking cast and the build of someone likely to be recruited for football when he got to high school. The other was short and wiry. Seeing them together got me thinking about the old Looney Tunes cartoon of Chester and Spike.

a222eadab5765b9ff7b49f8d093c2b75

“Spike” limped along while “Chester” jumped to hit every doorway. Yup, almost certainly 7th graders. They turned in to the boy’s bathroom and exited almost immediately. “Chester”, his shirt pulled over his nose, looked at me and said, “Somebody farted.”

I laughed and kept walking. Middle schoolers just make me laugh.

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Why I love teaching middle school”

  1. vanessaw2007 March 22, 2017 at 5:34 am #

    Oh my gosh. HIlarious! Thanks for starting my day off with a smile. I used to teach middle school and they did crack me up. Lovely comparison of the old cartoon.

  2. Katie Diez March 22, 2017 at 5:39 am #

    This made me laugh! I am with Junior High kids all day long and the things that come out of their mouths….pure gold sometimes! I love how you were able to incorporate the visual as well! Great Slice!

  3. elsie March 22, 2017 at 5:42 am #

    Love the description of the two and then the visual. Kids are hilarious if we just stop and notice. So glad there are special people who get these kids and teach in this environment.

  4. Leigh Anne March 22, 2017 at 7:31 am #

    Are you sure you weren’t looking in our hallway! I love teaching middle school for this reason and so many more!

  5. Tara Smith March 22, 2017 at 8:31 am #

    This is my world, too – and I love every moment of it!

  6. bjdonaldson March 22, 2017 at 9:48 am #

    My first assignment as a teacher was in middle school. Back then, I looked like a middle-schooler myself so it was hard for me. When I went back to teaching after raising my own children, I found a long-term sub in middle school. It was fun and exhilarating…and so much easier with wisdom that comes with age! Middle school teachers have a special calling! Thanks for the slice.

  7. terierrol March 22, 2017 at 12:25 pm #

    Oh, yes, they can be hilarious! You have to laugh with them.

  8. arjeha March 22, 2017 at 1:28 pm #

    This is why I enjoyed working in a Middle School so much. It guaranteed at least one laugh a day.

  9. jennieb March 22, 2017 at 5:28 pm #

    The comparison to the Looney Tunes characters is great!

  10. Alice Nine March 22, 2017 at 9:30 pm #

    Too funny. Your pairing with the Looney Tunes characters is priceless.

Comments are closed.