Jumping on the Juice Bandwagon

30 Mar

For a while now, I have been concerned about my consumption of fresh fruits and vegetables. Yes, I usually do a healthy meal on Sundays that I can eat during the week. It is evenings, when my energy is low, where I eat most poorly.

For a while too, I’ve been thinking about getting a juicer. I wasn’t planning on becoming a new age raw food aficionado. I just wanted to eat fresh fruits and vegetables with the minimum prep time.

I did my research and, on my way home from my mammogram on Tuesday, I bought the one I thought would best suit me.

images

I also stopped at a grocery store on the way home armed with a fruit & vegetable list, to begin making my own juices.

As excited as I was, I waited until the next morning to begin. I reorganized my counter and set up the juicer.

IMG_0640

I got out the fruit and vegetables my first recipe called for.

IMG_0641

I was a little nervous about starting with a beet recipe, but I figured in for a penny, in for a pound.  Besides, there was enough fruit there to balance out the earthiness of the beet. I chopped the ingredients into pieces that would fit through the feed chute and started the juicer.

My first juice was very red, but rather delicious!

IMG_0642

I am going to keep to fruity juices for a while, but I am interested in trying more savory, vegetable juices, too. After all, this is supposed to be a way for me to get more vegetables into my diet.

13 Responses to “Jumping on the Juice Bandwagon”

  1. aggiekesler March 30, 2017 at 7:00 am #

    Oh how I wish I had a juicer! I had a blender in China and I’d make fruit smoothies in the mornings, but I haven’t had one since. I’m definitely getting one at my next post. 🙂

    • Adrienne March 30, 2017 at 7:12 am #

      I used to have fresh juices of all sorts when I lived in Colombia. Our first week there some parents gave us a class in making juices. I was reminded of that when I made the first one yesterday.

  2. terierrol March 30, 2017 at 7:26 am #

    Very smart of you to using juicing to get your fruits and veges in. I used to do fruit smoothies in the am, but have gotten out of that habit. Thanks for reminding me.

  3. beckymusician March 30, 2017 at 7:33 am #

    That looks delicious! I debated between juicer and super-blender and ended up getting a VitaMix. I can make smoothies and it’s also useful for other cooking chores. Enjoy your healthy drinks!

  4. Juliette March 30, 2017 at 10:16 am #

    Thanks for commenting on my post! I make my smoothies, mainly fruit smoothies and freeze them for work the following day! I am now going to venture into making vegetable smoothies too.

  5. sodamountainsandy March 30, 2017 at 11:38 am #

    Great thing to do for yourself! Don’t forget to try apple carrot celery juice. It’s an oldie and a goodie!

    • Adrienne March 30, 2017 at 1:21 pm #

      I think I lean towards the classics. And, I tend to like them sweet, rather than savory.

  6. annelogan17 March 30, 2017 at 12:22 pm #

    hmmm I’ve considered getting a vita mix or something-I guess that’s different from a juicer though. How was the texture?

    • Adrienne March 30, 2017 at 1:19 pm #

      A juicer removes the pulp, so it is thinner than a smoothy.

  7. lynnedorfman March 30, 2017 at 1:57 pm #

    Sounds like something worth trying. I think I will start this adventure in the summer. It seems like drinking juices may be a good idea. I am staring now with a plan that Stacey recommended. I eat poorly when I am not prepared and tired and hungry. My eating habits need a lot of work! Thank, Adrienne!

  8. Lisa Corbett March 30, 2017 at 4:46 pm #

    I love fruit smoothies and juice, but haven’t been able to commit to vegetables in the juice, other than the occasional handful of spinach. Hope you feel “detoxed” and energized!

  9. arjeha March 30, 2017 at 6:51 pm #

    Enjoy your juicer. People who have them really seem to enjoy them. I am with you, I would go more for the sweet fruity flavors rather than savory.

  10. JudyK March 30, 2017 at 6:56 pm #

    Good for you! My eating habits are terrible, and yes it’s mostly because I get home late and am too tired and hungry to fix anything that takes a lot of time and effort. Maybe I should think about getting a juicer….I’ll have to keep that in mind. 🙂 ~JudyK

Comments are closed.