The view from the top

7 Mar

I conquered the mountain. What mountain? The mountain of work that needed scoring despite my best efforts.

Teen
activism books+
Teen Activism Websites +
the Writers Notebooks that
should have been graded before
the conferences that were cancelled by snow+
the conference prep that didn’t happen because of the snow days

 

Snow days put me behind on conference prep, that impeded my ability to find time to score the Teen Activism books that were exceptionally well done this year.

Sometimes middle school language arts teachers find themselves at the bottom of a very high pile of work. But, oh, the joy once you conquer it! I can see Spring Break from here.

Screen Shot 2019-03-06 at 6.08.52 PM.png

 

 

 

 

11 Responses to “The view from the top”

  1. Stacey Shubitz March 7, 2019 at 6:06 am #

    Isn’t it awesome when a vacation is able to be seen on the horizon?!!? Great feeling!

  2. Michelle Brezek (@HelloGGL) March 7, 2019 at 7:05 am #

    Aint’ that the truth. I’m FELLIN’ this post, 100%!

  3. jumpofffindwings March 7, 2019 at 7:28 am #

    Enjoy the view! I’m curious. Did any of the students tackle climate change? That’s the aspect of social justice I’m fixated on right now. If so, I’d love to hear more about it! Congratulations on a successful catch-up!

  4. arjeha March 7, 2019 at 8:30 am #

    Some days it is just a little hill other days it is a mountain. Congratulation on scaling it and reaching the peak. Bask in the light and enjoy the view.

  5. Grace Hilsmier (@GraceHilsmier) March 7, 2019 at 9:29 am #

    Loving this concrete poem. Congratulations to you on your feat! Hopefully I can join you up there someday.

  6. Elisabeth Ellington March 7, 2019 at 1:16 pm #

    Such a wonderful feeling to be able to conquer all the work and have a moment to see the view from the top!

  7. Lisa Corbett March 7, 2019 at 3:01 pm #

    Congratulations! Now you can enjoy your break. March Break officially starts today, but I am going in to the school tomorrow to clear off my desk. I’m convinced this will give me a boost toward staying organized for the rest of the school year. (I know, I know! But one can always hope!)

  8. J Koval March 7, 2019 at 3:46 pm #

    Congratulations! I also love your concrete poem…very clever! 🙂 ~JudyK

  9. Juliette Awua-Kyerematen March 7, 2019 at 4:02 pm #

    All the parts of this post worked together to share the feeling of achievement.
    The lead ,”I conquered the mountain.”, the concrete poem and the silhouette.

  10. terierrol March 7, 2019 at 5:25 pm #

    Wow! To reach the top of a mountain of work is quite the accomplishment.

  11. Brian Rozinsky March 7, 2019 at 7:26 pm #

    Your enthusiasm may just inspire me on my climb out of the current valley. Mean time, enjoy the view!

Comments are closed.