Ode to Avocado Toast

21 Mar

Unripe avocados sit upon my counter
until the day they all ripen, too quickly
for my heart to bear
and so, for many meals, I eat
the humblest, yet noblest of meals:
avocado toast.

First comes the toasting of the bread –
white, brown, with seeds or grains,
it makes no difference, for the toast
is merely the vehicle for the fruit.

O, noble avocado you were no friend in youth
Whether my mother spurned you in the grocery store
Or if you made no appearance there, I do not know.
I only know that I made your acquaintance
in university, dabbling and experimenting as
young dilettantes will, and yet
I knew not how to eat you
for my lack of youthful experience.

But lo, these many years later,
having eaten my weight in avocados
and found many ways to savor the
delightful and delicious green orb,
whose hue was sacrificed
on the altar of good taste in the 70s,
now, I serve you, lightly seasoned,
upon an altar of toast.

IMG_0014

12 Responses to “Ode to Avocado Toast”

  1. outdoorsgirl March 21, 2019 at 6:00 am #

    Yum! I too love avocados. In fact, I have one in my lunch today and not so sure, after reading your poem, that it will last until lunch time. Your picture, as well, is making me use lots of self control to keep me from reaching for my avocado right now!

  2. katlynhbennett March 21, 2019 at 6:52 am #

    I love this! I like the line “until they all ripen too quickly for my heart to bear” because it’s so true! Avocados are either too hard or too soft, it seems. The perfect ripeness is so elusive.

  3. Maestraavega March 21, 2019 at 7:08 am #

    I’ve never had avocado toast! Looks delicious!

  4. Northliving2001 March 21, 2019 at 7:16 am #

    That looks really amazing!

  5. arjeha March 21, 2019 at 7:28 am #

    I like avocados but never had avocado toast. I have two overly ripe ones sitting on my counter now. Could be dinner.

  6. jumpofffindwings March 21, 2019 at 8:17 am #

    I love “the altar of toast,” and “having eaten my weight in avocados.” This is terrific! (I once used a concrete poem with my students about avocados. I wish I could find it now!)

  7. livinglife816287820 March 21, 2019 at 10:04 am #

    Oh yes, I love avocados too and avocado toast, it’s really popular in Australia these days. The taste is unlike anything else, so I love your poem. I am currently eating avocados from Burundi (my daughter brought them on a recent visit to India) and they survived the journey. They should have been eaten long ago, but I’m making them last!

  8. Natalie Dunne March 21, 2019 at 12:28 pm #

    That looks delicious! I might have to try that! And like you, I didn’t try avocados until much later in life. So sad!

  9. hsatlas March 21, 2019 at 2:52 pm #

    I love your avocado ode! Love the line “humblest but noblest of meals: avocado toast.” Wow. What a delightful poem. And your ending is so perfect as you address the avocado – ‘I serve you, lightly seasoned, upon an alter of toast.” Thanks for this. It’s so good.

  10. terierrol March 21, 2019 at 4:06 pm #

    I totally agree with your avocado sentiments. The poem is genius!

  11. Lisa Corbett March 21, 2019 at 6:10 pm #

    I never had a lot of avocados until I was an adult. Now I love them. I can’t imagine why my mom never serve them. But there you have it she never did. I can’t figure out right now why I have never eaten a piece of avocado toast. I do have one avocado in my kitchen right now that is nearly done. Perhaps that will be my lunch tomorrow.

  12. Brian Rozinsky March 21, 2019 at 8:19 pm #

    Many fun turns of phrase here. Dilettanteness or dilettantecy (?) may never have tasted so good!

Comments are closed.