Mammogram 2019

28 Mar

Every other Spring Break I make the drive. I didn’t go last year, so it was on for this year.

I arrived 15 minutes before my appointment, as proscribed, checked in and took my seat in the waiting room.

I’d brought my book – the new graphic novel version of The Giver. It allowed me to read, but also pay attention. For the first few minutes, no one else was called .here weren’t many people in the waiting area. It was mostly women, but there was one very large man with a very tiny woman, who I took to be his mother. As I read Jonas’ story, one woman was called in and five came out.

Finally, it was my turn.

“We’ll take a right, then a left,” the nurse told me, smiling. Everyone in mammography is cheery.

She pulled the curtain on a cubicle and handed me a gown.

“Oh, it’s warm,” I commented as I took it from her hands. She laughed and pointed to the warming cupboard where they were stored.

I smiled, entered the cubicle and put on the gown. Once changed, I sat on the bench in my cubicle. Curtain open or closed? I wondered. Closed felt weird so I opened it and waited. The door across from me opened and a blond woman, similar to me in age, height and weight stepped out with a smile on her face and called my name. I followed her in for Mammogram 2019.

screen-shot-2018-05-15-at-6-04-18-am

5 Responses to “Mammogram 2019”

  1. rdicarne March 28, 2019 at 7:07 am #

    Good for you! The warm gowns are definitely a plus!

  2. jumpofffindwings March 28, 2019 at 7:43 am #

    Truly a slice, the details wonderful and the fulcrum “reveal, “Everyone in mammography is cheery.” Great writing of a small moment writ large. (I want to read the graphic version of The Giver, too.)

  3. Lisa Corbett March 28, 2019 at 4:32 pm #

    You make this sound like it’s not so bad. My first is creeping up on me!

  4. arjeha March 28, 2019 at 6:15 pm #

    Kathy just went for one yesterday.

  5. Brian Rozinsky March 28, 2019 at 7:37 pm #

    In the little things mean a lot category, I’m now adding: warm gowns.

Comments are closed.