Allergy eyes

30 Mar

There is something in the air.

I know because I feel it in my eyes.

I feel it even before I wake up: the heavier than usual lids, the itch, the grit, the tears that run from neither joy nor sorrow. Allergy season has hit my eyes.

It takes some time to get them serviceable. This means drops and hydrocortisone cream. This means frequent looks in the mirror to gauge the degree of puffiness and redness. This means extra wrinkles as the swelling goes down. This means NOT rubbing them.

It takes some time for them to feel normal again. Well, normalish. In allergy season, normal is a distant memory and desire. By noon, I feel normalish and I wonder when I will wake up and feel normal. I wonder, too, which student will be the first to comment.

Today, I replace the SOL logo with something more representative of how I’m feeling today.

ten-secrets-of-blood-oranges-64905-1

 

5 Responses to “Allergy eyes”

  1. Sharon Gubser March 30, 2019 at 8:19 am #

    I sympathize — I’m feeling the start of allergy season too! It’s bitter sweet – love the start of spring, but hate the allergy symptoms that come with it.

  2. arjeha March 30, 2019 at 4:44 pm #

    Life does get miserable when allergies kick in. Not rubbing the eyes has got to be one of the hardest things to do. Hope you can get some relief.

  3. Lisa Corbett March 30, 2019 at 5:21 pm #

    UGH! Allergies are the worst. If I touch my cat and then touch my face my eyes do the same thing (doesn’t seem to bother me as long as I don’t touch my face!) It’s a terrible feeling.

  4. Anna Maria March 30, 2019 at 5:45 pm #

    Allergies are the devil’s creation. I find it quite unfair that spring uses its beauty to try and kill us. I hope you find relief soon.

  5. Brian Rozinsky March 31, 2019 at 6:37 am #

    Your slice (and revised slice icon) capture this downside to the season. I wish you a speedy return to feeling more normal. As for that icon, perhaps of a blood orange, it reminds me of this oft quoted writing advice that fits this month’s SOL challenge: “Writing is easy. You just open a vein and bleed.”

Comments are closed.