Package Day

8 Mar

Unknown

I had a late meeting after school yesterday and, as I climbed the steps from the street to my front door, I was delighted  to see a package sitting on my stoop.

My twin sister and I send each other packages in the mail for no reason. We collect things (books, tea, etc.)that we know the other likes. When we have enough, we ship it off. It is a tradition that has evolved over time.

I have lived away from my family for decades. I taught in Colombia for several years and my sister and I sent letters. Later, when I’d moved to Portland, OR, letters evolved into socks, and socks evolved into packages.I can’t tell you when or why or how, but the tradition continues.

Today’s package contained a replacement for a favorite mug I’d broken a few months ago. And there was tea (2 kinds) and some Cadbury’s Easter candy I can’t get here. I’ve got to pace myself on that.

I have a package on the go for her, too. I need to get more packing tape, but I hope to mail it on Friday, so it will arrive after she and her family get home from their Spring Break vacation. I hope she will be as excited to get this one as I was to get hers.

8 Responses to “Package Day”

  1. Katie Diez March 8, 2016 at 5:42 am #

    I love this! What a fun surprise to come home to! I also love when something unexpected arrives….maybe I should start this tradition as well….thanks for sharing!

  2. jarhartz March 8, 2016 at 5:59 am #

    What a wonderful tradition. To have someone always on the look out for you and to be on the look out for them. That’s a rare and beautiful relationship.

  3. elsie March 8, 2016 at 6:15 am #

    Surprises like this are always a treat. I love the idea of the unexpected gift showing up. Sure perks up a day!

  4. MaryHill March 8, 2016 at 7:03 am #

    Such a sweet tradition of love. We sisters love and try to make each other happy in all kinds of ways. A sister can never be replace. I will have to send something to my sister now. 🙂

  5. Donna Smith March 8, 2016 at 4:19 pm #

    I think that’s why I order stuff on Amazon! It IS fun to get stuff in the mail. I love that you and your sister do that for each other. It’s just a little bit of a something that says “we aren’t that far apart!”

  6. shellymkeller March 8, 2016 at 4:41 pm #

    I love your tradition with your twin sister!

  7. alwaysgoinghome March 8, 2016 at 7:08 pm #

    What a wonderful tradition you have with your sister. Just as fun to give as it is to receive!

  8. Emily Culbertson March 8, 2016 at 8:08 pm #

    I love this. My sister and I send packages as well. We like to make “box of random”. It is all for fun and let’s the other know they are being thought of often,

Comments are closed.