The Quiz

10 Mar

Unknown

Privacy folders were up and I passed out the quiz. Pencils were poised awaiting the signal that they could begin.

“Go!” I called.

The sound of papers being flipped was followed by the scratch of pencils. Then giggles. A few kids stopped writing and appeared to be finished.

Before too long, I saw a hand go up and student said, “I am on number 8.”

More giggles. Some groans and then everyone was finished.

Yes, we tricked them. All four of the teachers on my team gave THAT quiz: the one about reading directions. We’d all recently had kids get test questions wrong because they didn’t read directions, so we thought we’d teach them lesson. My class had a good discussion about the importance of reading and listening to ALL directions and, though this could have been boring it wasn’t . The were especially impressed at how the four teachers had conspired against them.

I think we rose in their estimation today.

 

 

 

8 Responses to “The Quiz”

  1. Zinnia Bayardo March 10, 2016 at 6:46 am #

    I remember THAT test given to ME and all of my classmates in elementary. I remember thinking, wow, our teacher is sneaky and we just got punk’d!!! And then I remember thinking, that WILL never happen to me again. I’M READING AND ANALYZING EVERYTHING!!!

  2. elsie March 10, 2016 at 7:13 am #

    Perfect lesson before “the testing season.” I bet they will be a little more intentional, at least for a while.

  3. shelsdon March 10, 2016 at 10:33 am #

    I gave that quiz and I remember having 1 little boy walk up and ask me if it was a joke. Everyone else just kept taking the quiz. He was the only one that realized he didn’t have to do anything other than the directions. Great job!!

  4. jenntiggs March 10, 2016 at 1:26 pm #

    Yep! That’s one of my favorite things to do. I have a clear memory of Dylan flapping his wings and standing on a chair. It’s a hilarious sight! Love teaching that lesson. Thanks for causing me to remember THE QUIZ.

  5. Lisa March 10, 2016 at 1:45 pm #

    I remember first seeing this in a university class. I was definitely one to just start answering questions because I was so worried about forgetting everything I had studied, and because I was always worried about having enough time.

  6. Molly Robbins March 10, 2016 at 5:42 pm #

    I remember that quiz from when I was a kid. I was the slow reader, the one who everyone watched to see the expression on my face.

  7. alwaysgoinghome March 10, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

    I had forgotten about The Quiz! Haven’t used it in years…

    I will have to find my old copy and put it to good use before the dreaded state exams come up in early April. Thanks for taking me back. I think it’s great how your students realized that all four teachers worked together on this!

  8. Emily Culbertson March 11, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

    I used to give “that test” long ago when I taught 3rd grade. I had completely forgotten about it until now. Thanks for the walk down memory lane. And keep up the good fight!

Comments are closed.