How do you tire 6th graders?

24 Mar

The docent at the Tillamook Forest Center told me they’d had 10 days without rain since October. Fortunately, yesterday, our field trip day, was one of those ten.

Because the trip was a long distance, we rode in motor coaches rather than school buses. Never having been there, I didn’t know what to expect, so I was pleasantly surprised when we turned of the narrow highway.

site01

Fearing sheds and cold bathrooms, I was greeted by a modern interpretive center!

site06

After orientation, kids were rotated through 5 stations and and al fresco lunch. I manned the Exhibit Hall and, after the first rotation, I could find everything the kids needed to discover on the scavenger hunt they had to do there.

So, you may be wondering, how do you tire 6th graders?

IMG_0635

Send them to the top of the Lookout!

IMG_0634

 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “How do you tire 6th graders?”

  1. aggiekesler March 24, 2017 at 8:16 am #

    Looks like a really great field trip! When I saw the name, I have to admit I thought of Tillamook Cheese. Any relation?

    • Adrienne March 24, 2017 at 8:44 am #

      Yup. Same county in Oregon.

  2. terierrol March 24, 2017 at 9:08 am #

    Field are such a great way to learn and get exercise at the same time. I hope you enjoyed yours.

  3. Christine Baldiga March 24, 2017 at 12:30 pm #

    Looks like a beautiful spot for any age. Any that fire tower will tire anyone too!

  4. arjeha March 24, 2017 at 2:14 pm #

    Glad you had a good day and the weather cooperated. How long til the caught their breath and were rarin’ to go again?

    • Adrienne March 24, 2017 at 2:40 pm #

      About 10 minutes!

  5. Sonia March 24, 2017 at 7:49 pm #

    That really looks like fun. And what a tower! Did you climb up to the top yourself?

Comments are closed.