Some cold humor

30 Mar

Unknown

Last week I was in the pink,

Today I am coming down with something.

Last week, I was right as rain,

Today, I am under the weather.

Last week I was as fit as a fiddle,

Today I am as pale as a ghost.

Last week I was the picture of health,

Today I am at death’s door.

Last week I was alive and kicking,

Today I am running a fever.

Last week I was on top of the world,

Today I have one foot in the grave.

This week I took a turn for the worse,

Next week, I hope I am over the worst.

9 Responses to “Some cold humor”

  1. margaretsmn March 30, 2016 at 6:12 am #

    I love your idiom poem. I’d love to show this to my students as a model poem. Would you be interested in joining a National Poetry Month project #imagepoems? I want to write a poem a day to images I take. This is open-ended, not as structured as Slice of Life, and rather in the brainstorming stage right now.

    • Adrienne March 30, 2016 at 6:20 am #

      I’ve done NaPoWriMo in the classroom, so I might be interested. Let me know more once you are ready.

  2. Christine Baldiga March 30, 2016 at 6:28 am #

    What a fun way to poke at your cold. I hope it lifted your spirits as it did mine!

  3. elsie March 30, 2016 at 6:53 am #

    I’m right there with you as my cold has moved from the chest to the head. I hope to blow it away, soon! Loved the seesaw of your poem with the idioms!

  4. Lisa Orchard March 30, 2016 at 7:45 am #

    This poem fits me to a T. 🙂 I’ve just gotten over a nasty bug. I hope to get back to writing soon. 🙂

  5. arjeha March 30, 2016 at 8:20 am #

    Here’s hoping you are soon over the worst. Take care. Feel better soon. Love the poem.

  6. Cindy March 30, 2016 at 11:03 am #

    May you be back in the pink before the ink is dry!

  7. maribethbatcho March 30, 2016 at 2:31 pm #

    I too, like the seesaw effect of this week versus last week, and the way in which you made the idioms work for you. Great!

  8. mrssurridge March 30, 2016 at 8:22 pm #

    I have never heard an impending illness sound so poetic. I loved it. I hope everything comes up roses soon.

Comments are closed.