Revisiting my one little word #SOL15

23 Mar

Unknown

The lab results from my annual physical are in. There’s mostly good news. but, there are small problems. Despite eating healthy green the week before I went for the physical, my blood sugar and cholesterol were a bit above where they would be. Not so high we need to intervene medically, but high enough that I have to do something.

My OLW for 2015 is Shift, and my doctor’s prescription is more exercise and healthier eating.

I used to be obsessed with making soup. Every weekend, I would make a pot of soup, divide it into  bowls for the week and freeze the extra. When I did that, I had good labs. So, here it is my first day of spring break and I will be leafing through my favorite soup recipe books looking for things I can make this week so I can stock up and go back to work prepared to be a healthier eater.

Wondering at my two favorite soup cookbooks? Here they are

Twelve Months of Monastery Soups by Brother Victor D’Avila-Latourrette and The Soup Bible by Debra Mayhew.

Unknown   Unknown-1

7 Responses to “Revisiting my one little word #SOL15”

  1. joann hulquist March 23, 2015 at 10:17 am #

    I think we should start a walking group at school. I have to increase my exercise and if I had others counting on me, maybe I’d do it? Just too many excuses after I get home at night but maybe right after school a few times a week?

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Adrienne March 23, 2015 at 10:28 am #

      That is a good idea. Even if we did id only once or twice a week it would help.

  2. arjeha March 23, 2015 at 12:50 pm #

    I can relate to this. Since I have retired my physical activity has diminished. This has caused a change in some of my numbers as well. I need to get out and do a little bit of walking every day. It is a nice way to meet people and see what is going on in the community.

  3. Jaana March 23, 2015 at 2:58 pm #

    During the winter when I didn’t get to the gym, I walked around our school. I helped me get my steps! I also LOVE my FitBit!! It is my motivator!

  4. Ms. Kelly March 23, 2015 at 3:42 pm #

    Shift is an interesting one little word. What’s the story behind its selection?

  5. Tara Smith March 23, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

    Shifting into Spring – with some healthy soup – sounds like a wonderful plan to me.

  6. mrssurridge March 23, 2015 at 9:45 pm #

    I’m thinking my appt. next week will have some of the same suggestions. I love soup so thanks for the recommendations.

Comments are closed.