Connections #SOL15

30 Mar

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Yesterday afternoon I had a meeting via Google Hangouts with 9 people across the US. About 10 minutes after the meeting ended, I Skyped with my sister who lives in Canada.  All month I have been writing, sharing and reading slices with people all over the world.  It is amazing when you think about it.

In 1982, when I was 17, I left home to spend a year in Denmark as an exchange student. It took about a week to 10 days weeks for a letter to arrive. I only called by parents on Christmas because calls were so expensive. My parents saved all the letters I wrote and  still have them.

IMG_1859

In 1991, when I was 26, I moved to Colombia, where I spent 3 years teaching at an American school. Letters took 2 weeks. Since the phone was my responsibility, I called occasionally, but not often. It was still expensive.

When I moved back to North America in 1994, I got my first job that had this thing called e-mail and a connection to the internet.

Now, everyone is on the phone everywhere. I can talk to anyone anywhere, or send them an e-mail.

But I sort of miss letters. The anticipation. The reading and re-reading. The thought that something that touched my hand will soon be touching yours.

We have all the connections.

5 Responses to “Connections #SOL15”

  1. Darlene Andre March 30, 2015 at 5:42 am #

    There is something special about a letter. We now have the ability to connect easily, quickly and inexpensively, letter writing seems to be a lost art. I still have letters from my mom from my college days in the 80s. I’m not sure my emails to my own children have the same meaning.

  2. arjeha March 30, 2015 at 5:50 am #

    It is such a shame that letter writing in becoming a lost art for so many. Technology has really changed our lives and the way in which we communicate. I can’t even imagine what it will be like 10 years from now.

  3. storykeeper.ferris March 30, 2015 at 7:29 am #

    Letters are precious. I think I have always enjoyed the immediacy of hearing my loved ones voice.

  4. Jennifer March 30, 2015 at 7:46 am #

    I loved reading this. I am an old soul and your writing and wonderfully evocative picture made me think of explorers and pioneers for whom any contact with family was a luxury. Thanks so much for sharing.

  5. spiffygryphy March 30, 2015 at 1:56 pm #

    I miss letters too. There’s not much to anticipate anymore when going out to the mailbox. Emails don’t have the same flavor. I remember when I first had internet access… stayed up all night exploring. Now I’m glad to get away from it!

Comments are closed.