Finish strong – Day 1 of the SOLSC

1 Mar

Today is the first day of the Two Writing Teachers’ March Slice of Life Story Challenge (SOLSC) and I am writing about endings.

At several of the conferences I had last week, I told families that we wanted their child to “finish strong”. And finishing strong was what I spent my weekend doing.

People think that once the knitting is done a project is complete, but there are several things that need to happen before a project is well and truly finished. I had finished the knitting of my most recent project last Sunday and proudly posted this picture.

85244738_10222261526555048_889519007248416768_o.jpg

I received many lovely comments about the work, and about Lucy. No one commented on all the little loose ends hanging off the side. This weekend was all about tying those loose ends, literally and figuratively.  It took me most of Saturday morning to weave in all 96 loose ends neatly. And there was still work to do.

First, the wrap needed a bath, then rolled in towels to remove moisture.

 

Then, it had to be blocked.

The Knitter’s Dictionary  defines blocking as “a catch-all term for manipulating your finished knitting to smooth out the fabric, even out the stitches, tidy up the stitch patterns, and bring the fabric to the finished size”.  This can be done in a number of ways, but I decided this pattern needed to be pinned on blocking mats. The problem was, that I didn’t have a surface large enough, or the right number of mats, so I did some MacGyvering and came up with a solution that would keep it out of Lucy’s way.

In a day or two, it should be dry enough and for me to remove it without out fear of it losing any of the size it blocked to. Then, and only then, will it be truly finished.

13 Responses to “Finish strong – Day 1 of the SOLSC”

  1. Lisa Orchard March 1, 2020 at 6:20 am #

    Gorgeous! I envy your ability to knit. I wish I would’ve learned when I was younger.

  2. Brian Rozinsky March 1, 2020 at 6:44 am #

    So many excellent analogies conveyed in this slice and through the wrap you knitted. I’m happy to reconnect with your creativity in all its forms, Adrienne.

  3. terierrol March 1, 2020 at 6:53 am #

    I can just hope my ending this month is as beautiful as your knitting project. Your writing is so easy to relate to. I eagerly await your posts this month.

  4. jodimahoney March 1, 2020 at 7:20 am #

    Wow, this is a world that I know nothing about. Thank you for bringing me in, sharing your talent and enlightening me.

  5. Book Dragon March 1, 2020 at 7:40 am #

    Finishing strong – I love how you engaged us how you finished strong. The photos help us non-knitters clearly see the process of blocking. Thank you!

  6. livinglife816287820 March 1, 2020 at 7:50 am #

    Yes, it’s a beautiful work of art you’ve completed and I so enjoyed feeling included in the process!

  7. arjeha March 1, 2020 at 8:01 am #

    Just because something looks finished does not mean that it is. Thanks for taking us through the steps that come after the last stitch is placed. Beautiful work. Happy March.

  8. Fran McCrackin March 1, 2020 at 9:02 am #

    Ah, the task of finishing is full of fiddily details and problems to solve, long after the rush of creative energy has passed! I think it takes maturity and discipline to finish something properly. I will be thinking on this as metaphor!

  9. Northliving2001 March 1, 2020 at 10:26 am #

    Beautiful work!

  10. Leigh Anne Eck March 1, 2020 at 11:21 am #

    Beautiful – I love the earthy tones! I didn’t realize all of the “finishing” that needed to be done with knitting something. I am a former quilter, and I’ll be honest, I never liked the finishing part! I hope you share the final step – wearing it!

  11. TLC March 1, 2020 at 1:49 pm #

    Such a talent to be able to make something beautiful. Finish strong is an expression we use with our children often, so that phrase resonates with me!

  12. Lisa Corbett March 1, 2020 at 4:12 pm #

    I had no idea but would take all that work to “finish”. I’d have cut the loose threads and started wearing it. I’m sure your way will be much nicer.

  13. Diane Anderson (newtreemom) March 1, 2020 at 5:02 pm #

    I’ve never done any knitting. It was interesting to read about it, and I can relate the steps to many other things I do. Just the idea that no one mentioned the loose ends is intriguing- made me think how helpful it would be in so many situations if we just take card of loose ends instead of getting derailed by them.

Comments are closed.