Zooming in

19 Mar

A call went out from my twin sister yesterday to my siblings and their children.

Hi everyone. Just checking in that everyone is managing in these interesting times! Is everyone okay? Want to do a group Zoom meeting so we can connect virtually and see each other. 😊

There are five of us and 10 children. We are old enough that most of those children have children. Most of them live within a few hours of each other, but, with the pandemic and all, face-to-face visits aren’t an option. For those living further away, this was a way to see people we see infrequently.

When we met last night, we had six screens open and 12ish people present. I say 12ish because a few people popped in and out. Four of the five siblings were there – the first time we’d had so many of us in one place since Mom’s funeral.

Most had never used Zoom. In some ways, it was a bit of a shambles as we started, people talking at the same time, then no one talking. Eventually we developed a rhythm, the same way we are all developing a rhythm as we all stay at home.

We all checked in on one another, told funny stories, talked more seriously about how this is impacting what we do. As we wrapped up we talked about “Zooming in” again in a week, hopeful that maybe a few others would join us. I’ll let you know if they do.

screen-shot-2017-12-02-at-6-09-23-am

16 Responses to “Zooming in”

  1. jumpofffindwings March 19, 2020 at 6:54 am #

    I left a reply to your comment on my blog. LOVE this! (It deserves a cyber-shout!)

  2. arjeha March 19, 2020 at 8:06 am #

    Technology has made staying connected a bit easier. I used zoom a few weeks ago and it was really great seeing and talking with others. We were all in the same room even though we weren’t

  3. livinglife816287820 March 19, 2020 at 8:28 am #

    Yes I’m hearing so much about zoom so I’m looking forward to using it personally as well as just sitting in on an online conference. So good that your family could enjoy time together, even if it was virtual.

  4. astarowicz March 19, 2020 at 8:35 am #

    So GREAT that you are communicating virtually. Every single time that I see “Zoom”, I think about all of the other virtual platforms I’ve used in the classroom. The class has “Skyped” with authors and other guests. We have “Face timed” and we have been in “Google Hangouts” with classroom guests. It is so wonderful that this is an option in this time of isolation. Thank you for sharing. I hope that you have more people online for your next visit.

  5. Brian Rozinsky March 19, 2020 at 9:35 am #

    It’s like you held a (wait for it): family E-union!

    • Adrienne March 19, 2020 at 9:35 am #

      Nice one!

  6. Lisa Corbett March 19, 2020 at 10:51 am #

    What a nice way to connect! I had a Zoom conversation with some people yesterday too. It was nice to socialize with people outside of my house.

    • Adrienne March 19, 2020 at 10:54 am #

      It is a great wAy to add variety to the conversation circle.

  7. JudyK /J Koval March 19, 2020 at 11:01 am #

    Nice! I’ve heard so much about Zoom lately that I know that I’m going to need to check it out! I’ve never been one for Skyping and using Google Hangouts, but times are rapidly changing and I guess it’s time for me to catch up!!!

  8. Ramona March 19, 2020 at 1:05 pm #

    We’re supposed to have a Zoom gathering tomorrow night for our film club. Do I need to download the app to my computer?
    Love this family gathering you held.

    • Adrienne March 19, 2020 at 1:06 pm #

      I don’t think so, although you can. I think you just need to click on the link.

  9. Ramona March 19, 2020 at 1:15 pm #

    We’re supposed to have a Zoom gathering tomorrow night for our film club. Do I need to download the app to my computer? Love this family gathering you held.

  10. Lois Russo March 19, 2020 at 5:01 pm #

    loved this!!! I facetimed my sister today….haven’t zoomed yet- but will try tomorrow! ( a silver lining of the tech age- especially meaningful these crazy times!

  11. karpenglish March 19, 2020 at 5:46 pm #

    My family has been playing with FaceTime, and it is so nice to see faces! More so than I expected! It’s a technological balm for these weird days and weeks. (Also, I read someone’s older post that referenced you and realized that we both teach at SMS. I’m Whitney, the new one hired in November!)

    • Adrienne March 19, 2020 at 6:52 pm #

      OMG Whitney! How crazy is that! How is your Social Distancing going?

      • karpenglish March 19, 2020 at 9:39 pm #

        It’s going pretty well. I saw what was coming and made sure my freezer and pantry were pretty full, so we are not having to run to the store all the time. I have plenty of books and knitting projects to keep me occupied. Of course, I also have my 9 year old to teach and entertain, so I don’t actually get to read or knit much at all, but I do have the skills to make sure he still learns things! How is your social distancing?

Comments are closed.