Quiet in the hood

18 Mar

I had an appointment for a haircut yesterday. I wondered if my hairdresser would cancel, but she didn’t. Her salon is about 4 blocks from my house, in the same block as a small Whole Foods, and in a stretch of NE 28th that is sometimes called Restaurant Row.

The weather was nice, so I decided to walk. Although people were out, it wasn’t as busy as it normally is. I decided to take some shots of the signs that have been put up since the governor declared that restaurants could only serve take out or delivery.

This sign was posted on the telephone pole in front of the Whole Foods.

90007298_653371962156512_1443038655596724224_n

It’s hard to know what this shut down will mean to all these small businesses. My hairdresser talked about how she was torn between staying open and shutting down. Salons have been shut down in Washington and she might now have to struggle with that decision much longer.

10 Responses to “Quiet in the hood”

  1. LaReina March 18, 2020 at 5:48 am #

    Thanks for this peek into your world during the pandemic. Best of luck staying in and healthy.

  2. oneblessedblock March 18, 2020 at 6:03 am #

    We are documenting history. Your pictures are artifacts that some day you might look back at with your children or grandchildren to explain how the world almost stopped during this crisis.

  3. jumpofffindwings March 18, 2020 at 6:34 am #

    Small businesses, the people who truly represent industry in this country (not the stockholders!), those are the folks I worry about. Good luck to her.

  4. Lisa Corbett March 18, 2020 at 6:38 am #

    Our premier has now mandated that every restaurant either close or go to pick-up/drive-thru only. I plan to support them at my normal rate: once a week. That’s what is in my budget, and even though I could stop all together I’m with you in thinking it’s important to support them while I can. They have people to pay too and we need to still stimulate the economy. I really love the collage of pictures with your reflection in each.

  5. Joanne Toft March 18, 2020 at 6:49 am #

    Love the peak into your world. My neighborhood of houses is quiet but it also seems busy in that more people are walking each day and through out the day. Lots of families or couples with dogs or strollers. It is nice to see them walk by! In all the craziness at least it is bringing family time!

  6. arjeha March 18, 2020 at 7:32 am #

    The world seems to be shutting down. All non-essentials are closed here. My dentist appointment has been cancelled. I couldn’t believe the run on the liquor stores before the shut down. to each his own, I guess.

    • Adrienne March 18, 2020 at 7:37 am #

      It is funny what people load up on. I bought a larger bag of dog food than I normally do.

  7. Brian Rozinsky March 18, 2020 at 11:27 am #

    Those signs tell the beginnings of lots of stories.

  8. Kristy L March 18, 2020 at 2:38 pm #

    I feel so bad for small businesses. I have a lot of friends who own their own, and I worry for them. There are so many hard decisions to be made right now. Sigh.

  9. Christine March 18, 2020 at 6:52 pm #

    Your pictures truly capture the signs of our times. Such change and uncertainty in the air.

Comments are closed.