Revisiting an old craft

24 Mar

I love knitting, but I have to admit, I am getting a little tired of the project I am working on. Having seen calls to people to take up a new craft, I decided to revisit an old one.

About 20 years ago, I took a beginning bookbinding/book arts class. I loved it and gave people handmade journals for Christmas that year. Over the years, I made fewer and fewer until I stopped,  until a few years ago. Our principal was retiring and I suggested to my team that we give each student a paper on which they could say something inspirational, and I would bind them together into a book for her. It was simple and beautiful in words and execution.

Since then, I haven’t really done any more bookbinding, but yesterday, I pulled out my books and supplies and looked over what I had.

unnamed

I decided this was enough to do a practice book to get my chops back. In the meantime, I placed an order with a local, independent art supply store that is still doing online orders. I have plans to do something a little fancier after my practice run. I will let you know how it goes.

 

6 Responses to “Revisiting an old craft”

  1. jumpofffindwings March 24, 2020 at 6:49 am #

    Please do. I think your suggestion is one I could enjoy doing, not being a knitter or really—anything. I will say that with the pool being closed, I have a lot of time on my hands. This might help keep me afloat! Please do keep us posted!

  2. Lisa Corbett March 24, 2020 at 7:13 am #

    That sounds like a fun project! And a lovely keepsake. All of my impulsively purchased craft supplies are coming in handy this week. My children love to paint and craft.

  3. arjeha March 24, 2020 at 8:46 am #

    What a great way to give someone a book full of inspiration and fond memories.

  4. Lakshmi Bhat March 24, 2020 at 10:05 am #

    A wonderful idea. Enjoy 🙂

  5. BeReal81 March 24, 2020 at 12:49 pm #

    I look forward to your progress. What a unique hobby! I am hoping to rekindle a couple of mine as well if I get some time truly at home.

  6. JudyK /J Koval March 24, 2020 at 7:06 pm #

    That sounds wonderful! I do paper crafting (mostly making greeting cards) and I’ve looked at books about book-binding and making books, but have never tried it. I hope you share the practice one that you do! ~JudyK

Comments are closed.