Fiona’s ears SOLSC 14

14 Mar

At 9-1/2 inches, Fiona has lovely long bassety ears.

Fiona-Grass3

This photo was turned into the cover for the 2011 Daily Drool Basset-a-Day  desk calendar.

Fiona_2011DD

Today we went to the vet because her lovely ears are not well. They’ve been not well on many occasions, but that is a different Slice. Here is a short poem about her long ears.

Fiona’s Ears

Long velvety

pendulous ears

dragging on the ground

whipping up scents,

dipping into the water bowl

while you devour your kibble.

You are patient

while I clean inside

those lovely lobes,

though you’d rather be napping.

6 Responses to “Fiona’s ears SOLSC 14”

  1. Cindy March 14, 2014 at 4:55 am #

    You’ve captured Fiona quite well. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Two years and finishing strong... March 14, 2014 at 4:29 pm #

    Oh…she is adorable, makes me miss my beagle so much…the same kind of ears that always got so bad. My pup’s name was Allison. I love the name Fiona

  3. elsie March 14, 2014 at 6:47 pm #

    My Ohso (who was a basset) lived a charmed life with her ears. We didn’t have problems, so sorry for Fiona’s ear dilemma. Great poem, captures the essence of those sweet bassets.

    • Adrienne March 15, 2014 at 5:17 am #

      The others I’ve had just needed regular cleaning. I knew this about Fiona when I got her, through not the extent of the problem. But, when I saw her, I knew she was the one…….

  4. readerlee March 15, 2014 at 3:59 am #

    I love your poem and Fiona’s picture. She’s beautiful! My cocker spaniel always had ear problems. When he was older I spent $2000 to get rid of one of the infections – required daily shots, But that care is worth it in exhange for the love and loyalty they give.

    • Adrienne March 15, 2014 at 5:15 am #

      I often refer to Fiona’s $1000 ear infection. She’s on very expensive drops daily, but they aren’t working now. Her ears look awful, but you’d never know it by her behavior. She’s such a trooper. Now I just have to wait for the results of the culture to see what’ going on in her ears.

Comments are closed.