March comes in like a lion: A Slice of Life Story

1 Mar

And so it is March. Finally. February might be the shortest month, but if feels the longest. But, thankfully, March is here, and so is the Slice of Life Story Challenge.  And March has come in roaring. This is also the NCTE Regional conference weekend ( more on this tomorrow) and  Rose City Yarn Crawl weekend.

What is that you might ask? An annual Portland experience, the Rose City Yarn Crawl is a four-day event for fiber enthusiasts (knitters, crocheters, spinners, and felters) to explore the many shops in and around Portland. Basically yarn crazed people driving all over the metro Portland area. We recognize each other. Sometimes you see the same people for a couple of shops in a row. Sometimes you see a trainer but recognize him/her by the Rose City Yarn Crawl tote bag and passport she is carrying.

RCYC2014Bag-e1385943804255

At each shop, you get a stamp on your passport. Last year was extra fun because each of the 19 shops handed out a button to pin on the bag.

The yarn crawl runs from Thursday February 27-Sunday March 2. I visited 3 shops after work yesterday & 2 today. As I entered the third shop last night, two women I’d seen at the previous two shops, entered behind me. They proudly walked up to the counter to get their FINAL stamp on their passports. Yup, they did it all in one day. In previous years, I might have been disheartened by this. But I’m an experienced yarn crawler. I’m in it to have a ball.

5 Responses to “March comes in like a lion: A Slice of Life Story”

  1. Lisa Keeler March 1, 2014 at 5:48 am #

    What a fun tradition you chose to write about. And I love that you are in it for the fun. I learned something new about Portland. I think I would be in heaven during a yarn crawl.

  2. AJF (@Anitaferreri) March 1, 2014 at 5:59 am #

    What a great idea….while I have read about BAR crawls…I have never read of a yarn one….but I would love to….love yarn and fabric….

  3. arjeha March 1, 2014 at 6:37 am #

    I agree that February is a long short month. The yarn crawl sounds interesting. My wife is a quilter and has participated in shop hops – traveling to quilt shops around the area, getting her card stamped, and hoping to win a prize at the end for visiting all shops involved.

  4. lromainebrown March 1, 2014 at 10:38 am #

    Yarn crawl. That phrase has such an earthy tone. And leaves a whimsical half-formed picture in my mind of something childlike and at the same time purposeful.
    Fibers. Tactile things. Making things for fun. What terrific therapy for busy, busy educators.

  5. Amanda Villagómez March 1, 2014 at 3:24 pm #

    I am also at the Regional NCTE in Portland right now, commenting on slices really quick before the next session. I hope that you are enjoying it!

Comments are closed.