Late nights with the window open #SOL15

10 Mar

I’ve been sleeping with my window open lately because the weather has been so nice. Here is a little poem about the lullaby I hear.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

The sun’s down, the lights are out

And I crawl into my bed

Gentle night sounds

Lull me to sleep

Wind through the leaves

The hum of the distant highway

The doppler clack of shoes on the sidewalk

Car doors, engines

All fading away

until

there

is

nothing.

4 Responses to “Late nights with the window open #SOL15”

  1. arjeha March 10, 2015 at 8:21 am #

    How relaxing. Who needs a white noise maker when there are the peaceful comforting sounds of nature and man all around.

  2. lalalalark March 10, 2015 at 9:18 am #

    I love the hour glass layout of this poem. As the words filter down, it creates a relaxed feel in itself. How beautiful that you get to listen to your neighborhood fall asleep.

  3. Robin March 10, 2015 at 12:39 pm #

    I enjoy listening to sounds of my house falling asleep at night. Much like the noises outside, the noises inside dwindle away, the youngest is asleep, the middles asleep, oldest makes one last bathroom trip, tv goes off, husband snores…well, it’s all nice except that last one. 🙂

  4. barbarasut March 10, 2015 at 5:58 pm #

    I couldn’t get to sleep last night, so I got up very late today. I loved how “quieting” your poem is. I’ll try to recall it tonight if I have trouble again. It’s very relaxing…

    They’re Back!!! Spring Fever in the Local Pond

Comments are closed.