Keeping Secrets #SOL15

11 Mar

morris_seal

I’m pretty good at keeping secrets. But this one is hard.

I am on the 2016 William C. Morris Debut Award Committee, which selects ” a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature”. I am honored and thrilled to be doing it. But I can’t share much of my joy.

I can’t tell you what I’ve read, though I can tell you I’ve read 6 books so far.

I can’t tell you what I thought of those books.

I can’t tell you which book I’m reading now.

I can’t tell you the titles of books publishers have sent me.

And I have to keep not telling you until December, when the committee announces the five finalists we’ve selected.

Until January 11, 2016 when the committee’s decision is announced along with the Newbery and Caldecott Awards.

I have to keep it all top secret.

It is hard.

8 Responses to “Keeping Secrets #SOL15”

  1. tcrwpliteracycoachJenn March 11, 2015 at 5:48 am #

    That is such exciting work and it must be hard to keep it secret. It must be especially thrilling to read the words of budding writers who are creating story for new generations of readers. What does this cohort have to offer I wonder. I know that our students are amazing writers and they are only in primary school – so I can’t imagine what your reading.

  2. Kathy Douglas March 11, 2015 at 5:51 am #

    That would be so, so hard! I would just have to tell my book club what I was reading. I would just have to tell my retired teacher buddies what I did. I would just have to tell my husband, even though he probably wouldn’t care!

  3. maryannreilly March 11, 2015 at 6:20 am #

    Now I’m intrigued and wondering what those 6 books are…Will need to wait all the way until next year. #Sigh. 🙂

  4. aggiekesler March 11, 2015 at 7:01 am #

    Oh man! That would be hard! I’m good at keeping secrets that I have to keep, but this one…I would have a hard time keeping. Hope you’re having fun and remember, mum’s the word! 😉

  5. raeily March 11, 2015 at 11:30 am #

    What an honor! Congratulations! I cant imagine how hard it is to keep the secrets. I would be bursting. Can’t wait ti find out more in December/January.

  6. shaggerspicchu March 11, 2015 at 4:47 pm #

    Eeek! How exciting. That would be difficult. I love talking about the books I am reading, and I know you do too. Yikes!

  7. arjeha March 11, 2015 at 4:48 pm #

    Ditto the great honor. What a teaser for possible posts in the new year.

  8. Joanne Toft March 11, 2015 at 5:19 pm #

    Very cool but oh to hard – now we really want to know what you are reading! Enjoy the year of secrets.

Comments are closed.