The Road I Traveled #SOL15

16 Mar

Bad driving day yesterday. The traveling was not easy. I forgot that the Shamrock Run was yesterday morning and, consequently got stuck for 30 minutes on Glisan street in downtown Portland on my way to church. I like to arrive at church ready to be still and silent,  but the stress I felt as I sat, unmoving, surrounded by other drivers wasn’t getting my head and heart ready.

I go to a not very Greek, Greek Orthodox Church. Most of the service is in English, but we chant a few things in Greek. We usually chant  “Lord have mercy” in Greek, “kyrie eleison”. When I finally got moving again, I remembered this song, “Kyrie” from 1986 from Mister Mister.

On the way home, the wind was very strong. I could feel it move the car. When I got off the highway, the traffic lights were out on the streets I took to get to my house. It seems many people foot what they learned when they got their driver’s permit: when lights are out, you treat it as a 4 way stop. Well, apparently, not today. People were not even slowing down. I said a few more kyrie eleisons and waited until it looked safe to cross.

Fortunately, the power was on at my house and no clocks were flashing. My home is my sanctuary. Lord have mercy.

 

5 Responses to “The Road I Traveled #SOL15”

  1. jodimahoney March 16, 2015 at 5:47 am #

    Glad you got home safe. I could feel your nerves and the tension you felt.

  2. arjeha March 16, 2015 at 5:54 am #

    What a morning you had. Glad you made it home without incident. I am Byzantine Catholic but haven’t been to a “Greek” church in years since there is done near us. There is just something special about a Greek mass that other rites do not have.

    • Adrienne March 16, 2015 at 6:02 am #

      I love the connections we make through the SOL! Thank goodness I found some peace once I was in church. Lost it again on the way home, but I knit after I got home (and finished a project) so I regained a bit of it back.

  3. Holly Mueller March 16, 2015 at 5:58 am #

    I didn’t know “kyrie eleison” meant “Lord have mercy!” I always loved that song and didn’t know that’s what it meant! Ha.

  4. Donna Smith March 16, 2015 at 7:23 am #

    Glad you got home safely! I thought at first you were talking about Portland, Maine – we had a minor storm yesterday, but didn’t think anyone had lost power. Strange how people will act sometimes.

Comments are closed.