Fixing the toilet #SOL15

21 Mar

A year or so ago, my toilet started “ghost flushing”, suddenly flushing on its own. After a quick Google search, I determined I didn’t have a leaking tank and  all I had to do was replace the flapper.

images

That repair cost less than $5.00 and took about 5 minutes. Yeah me! I felt like I just earned a degree from P. U. (Plumber’s University)

So. when my tank seemed to stop filling this week. I felt pretty confident that I could fix it and added that to my Spring Break “to do ” list.

It’s been coming on gradually. At first, I noticed that there was a 5 second pause between flushing and refilling that hadn’t been there before. Every day, the pause seemed to get longer until, Thursday, it stopped refilling completely. I’ve been filling a bucket in the tub and manually refilling the toilet tank, until this morning.

Last night I adjusted the float adjustment screw on the end of the floating ballcock. I figured it couldn’t hurt. This morning, things were back to normal. Woohoo! I just earned an advanced degree from P.U.

I am cautiously optimistic that the problem is fixed. I suspect that I will eventually have to replace the fill valve, but I have watched the YouTube videos and know that this is a task I can accomplish. I’ll just think of it as my post-graduated work at P. U.

15 Responses to “Fixing the toilet #SOL15”

  1. Susanne March 21, 2015 at 7:15 am #

    So proud of you! I’ll repeat what my neighbor told me the first summer I started push-mowing my yard. She brought her riding mower over to help finish. “Us strong, independent single women need to stick together.”

  2. anita March 21, 2015 at 7:18 am #

    I suggest You Tube videos. I fixed my Aunt’s toilet by watching them! Seriously, it was a sight…me in the bathroom, the laptop on the toilet seat…the video playing in the background…her laughing at my modern day plumber’s pose.

  3. showgem March 21, 2015 at 7:37 am #

    Love that you took that problem “head” on. It gives you a sense of power and freedom to face the next challenge.

  4. arjeha March 21, 2015 at 7:44 am #

    Congrats on your advanced degree. Hope you frame the diploma. Isn’t a great feeling of accomplishment when we tackle something we have never done before…and it works.

  5. Jen March 21, 2015 at 9:33 am #

    I loved this post! I think that this is a great mentor text for new slicers (like me). Thank you for sharing!

  6. Darla & Jen March 21, 2015 at 9:47 am #

    Haha! Loved your term “ghost flushing.” Keep up the great work.
    Darla & Jen

  7. travelinma March 21, 2015 at 10:35 am #

    Now that is an accomplishment to be proud of…you have it up on me. I can at least grope into the tank and stop the continually running flush. That is about it! Wishing you and your tinkering success.

  8. macrush53 March 21, 2015 at 10:56 am #

    Love the post. I hate when the toilet does that. Loved the last line…are you having t graduation party?

  9. Jaana March 21, 2015 at 12:11 pm #

    There has to be a template found online where you can fill in a few details and then click print. You need to proudly display your advanced degrees that you are earning in a lightning speed!!

  10. Lisa March 21, 2015 at 2:15 pm #

    If only people knew how easy it can be to do simple home repairs! Good for you for tackling it on your own.

  11. Donna Smith March 21, 2015 at 2:23 pm #

    There are so many things we can actually take care of if we just try it! Congratulations on your degrees! PU can be a real stinker to get a certificate from.

  12. franmccrackin March 21, 2015 at 3:04 pm #

    Your languagee- “ghost flushing” and “P.U.” add so much to your piece!

  13. Michelle Haseltine March 21, 2015 at 3:47 pm #

    I am so impressed!!! What would we do without Google or Youtube?!?! Congrats on a job well done!

  14. Maureen Ingram March 21, 2015 at 6:30 pm #

    Okay, you are plumbing certified in my book, if you can write this: “Last night I adjusted the float adjustment screw on the end of the floating ballcock. ” Awesome work!! Be proud!!

  15. freegriffa March 21, 2015 at 7:31 pm #

    I also enjoyed the image of the Ghost flushing. How disturbing but kinda funny. Great post with your little diagram too! I’m inspired to work on our terrible toilet from hell now. Wish you were my neighbor 😭

Comments are closed.