Springing forward SOLSC 11

11 Mar

I’m enjoying the posts about the time change. I hate to admit it, but I had no trouble adapting this year. I set my clocks ahead in the early afternoon on Saturday, took my dogs for a walk & came home to the “new time”. Saturday night, I stayed up later than I would on a school night, but had a great sleep. But it has all had me thinking about Colombia’s first time change.

In the summer of 1991, I travelled to Medellin, Colombia to teach at the American School, there Much of Colombia was experiencing a drought, though Medellin and its environs were less impacted. Medellin, called the City of eternal spring, had excellent infrastructure (you could drink the tap water among other positives). It was a wonderful place to live and work and I ended up staying three years.

images

 In an effort to conserve energy, he federal government implemented several policies. For my first year there, we had only 12 hours of electricity a day. Each week we alternated between 6 am to 6 pm and 6 pm to 6 am. additionally it was decided to implement Daylight Savings time for the first time ever. Colombia lies just above the equator, so daylight hours only vary about 30 minutes from one solstice to another.

Some people accepted the decision, some resisted, and some were confused. Many would ask “Old time or new time?” when you made an agreement about a time to meet. Arrogant North Americans that we were we would argue trying to explain that it didn’t matter, just change the clock and go with it, but friends and coworkers sometimes couldn’t do it.

One problem I face is my alarm clock. It is about 15 years old and has a chip that automatically changes the clock. Alas, the chip changes the clock based on the dates we used prior to 2005 when revisions were made and  DST began on the second Sunday of March and ended on the first Sunday of November, from the first Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. So now, I have to change my clock 4 times a year.

2 Responses to “Springing forward SOLSC 11”

  1. Stacey Shubitz March 11, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

    How’s slicing going Adrienne? Glad you’re writing with us this month!

    Your alarm clock reminds me of my old computer. I had to change the time setting on that four times a year too!

    • Adrienne March 11, 2014 at 6:31 pm #

      It’s going ok. I’m trying to go to bed with an idea for the morning (I prefer writing in the morning). I’ve been wandering through my days thinking about ideas. It’s been fun. And it’s interesting to see what other people write about. That’s been a real springboard for me.

Comments are closed.